See You Tomorrow

Another one that stayed as a bunch of blurbs in the vault for a while but was finally in the right headspace to complete.

What ifs are kind of a bitch.

~~~~~~~

Your smile lit up the room as you took your time to thank everyone.
Sneaking curious glances with tired eyes, forced to stay awake.
Asking me to rescue you from this mess you got yourself into.
I hand you an iced coffee with a soft smile as if to say:
“We still have a long way to go, darling. Just a little bit more.
Don’t give up just yet. It’ll all be worth it in the end.”

We part ways just a little bit past midnight.
With big hugs, we say our goodbyes, good jobs, let’s do this again tomorrow.
Turn off the lights and close the doors.
Yes. Let’s do this again tomorrow.

It became a little routine,
even from thousands of miles away
The promise of tomorrow
Cheering each other on wherever we were
Missing each other, but not too much
We never really committed to anything

Conversations then became short sentences
Then one-liners,
Then emojis,
Then just the double checks.
Replies more sporadic as the days passed.

We just
Keep
Missing
Each other

Now, I see you.
Smiling sleepily through the screen halfway across the world
The beautiful cherry tree you always talk about is now in full bloom
right outside your window.

You look, happy. Content. Enveloped in all the love that she has for you.
I too am happy and content. Enveloped in all the love she has for me.
But I still can’t help but wonder what if we got all our ducks in a row
and chose each other instead.

Maybe if I’d taken that chance, I’d be closer to where you were.
I’d be seeing your face bathed in soft spring sunrise,
bundled up under the comforters, asking me to come back to bed.

Tonight, I’m not sure where you are.
You might be sound asleep or wide awake.
You might be dreaming of me the way I dream of you,
or I might be the furthest thing from your mind.
I just want you to know wherever you are, whatever you might be doing,
I hope you are safe.
I hope you are happy.
I hope to get to see you again.


I hope.

Goodnight, darling. Let’s do this again tomorrow.

Leave a comment