Life is Full of Surprises: Life Update as of May 2016

I’m a fairly optimistic person, when I’m in the mood. Always seeing the good in people (’till they piss me off), seeing the rainbow after a storm, the sunshine through a cloudy day, and all the clichés that you can relate to optimism.

I grew up thinking I can be whoever I wanted to be and achieve whatever I wanted to achieve with enough prayer and hard work as my mom would always say. I have a lot of dreams, but life hasn’t always been good. I’ve been derailed so many times that I’ve just gone completely off the path I envisioned myself to be on when I was young, and I’m currently learning that isn’t so bad as I set it out to be. I’ve learned how to live one step at a time and let life take the reins. Doing so can both teach you and surprise you. Those that are close to me know that I LOVE and HATE surprises, so this whole letting life take the reins thing is currently giving me whiplash. These past few years have been a roller coaster ride and inasmuch as I hate roller coasters, I love riding this one.

2016, alone, has been a whirlwind and it isn’t even June yet. Roch keeps reminding me of this. In a nutshell, this is 2016 so far: we launched an album with Sud (They are awesome! — check them out. ALSO! I wrote this piece for that album.) in January; performed for TEDxMiriam and shared my story for TEDxAdMU (I’ll post about this separately!) for February and March; Words Anonymous‘ 2nd year Anniversary in PETA for April, then Sarah Kay & Phil Kaye Live in Manila 2016 in May.

Wait, not just organizing the public show but actually opening for the damn show.

Serge, Roch, and I were asked by Phil and Sarah to open for them and we have no other words to express what we felt at that moment other than AAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH!!!!! It was nerve-wracking, amazing, and possibly one of the happiest days of my life. Here are some photos from that day (all photos by the very very very awesome Shutterpanda Photography):

Photo-346
This is Serge opening his heart to everyone.
Photo-61
Slowly dying, este rehearsing, backstage. Roch watching Serge perform. 
Photo-71
This is how Roch made more than a thousand people fall in love with her in less than 5 minutes.
Photo-78
Shhhh, guys. My parents are watching.
Photo-357
Here we are looking so relieved after our set.
Photo-225
Letting Phil and Sarah take the stage.

We opened for Phil Kaye and Sarah Kay. What the actual fuck, guys. I still can’t wrap my head around all of this.

That night sealed it for me. Dreams do come true. Open yourself to an entire universe of possibilities and see what life has in store for you. So if you’re looking for that sign to take that leap forward and pursuing your dream, this might be it. 🙂 Of course these things don’t happen through sheer dumb luck, it’s gonna take a lot of hard work and perseverance, this isn’t the lottery. Hahahaha.

Get ready to take that step forward and let life surprise you. 🙂


I have this sinking feeling that I’m the only one that gets what I write so If you have any questions or comments on this post, or you just wanna talk to me, feel free to post them on the comment box below or reach me through email or my different social media channels. Yay! Thanks! 😀

Leave a Reply

