On Getting Punched On The Head By Some Random Dude

Hello! I’m back, sort of. Sharing this story online because my mom wanted more people to know that this can happen and it might help you become more aware of your surroundings. (She wants this to go viral. She’s social media savvy now, so cute.) 

Yesterday, I was running some errands with my best friend. Around 2 in the afternoon, we went to Market Market, our final stop for the day. When our cab arrived at the unloading zone of the long driveway, l stepped out of the cab and made my way through to the entrance when a guy, who looked like a normal mall-goer, came up in front of me and punched me hard on the head. I say punched because I felt his knuckles plant themselves on my head. This made the vision in my right eye blurry and my side of head very sore.I launched most of the expletives I know and looked right in his direction ready to charge. When I started shouting, he ran away. I would have run after him but I was getting too dizzy. I think he was expecting me to fall down so I’d drop my things, but he chose the wrong girl to hurt, he wasn’t able to get any of my things. Thank God. I’m kind of pissed that people just stood there and did nothing. They were probably just as shocked as I was. I didn’t report it to Market Market’s security personnel because there were some of them around when it happened and they did nothing, so… never mind.

A few lessons can be picked up from this experience:

  1. Remain vigilant at all times. Even in a very public setting, someone can still try to hurt you.
  2. Never hesitate to make a scene and call for help when needed.
  3. If given the opportunity, fight back. All my peace-loving friends will disagree with me and my parents will say that it’s very dangerous, but if you are in the capacity to do it, do it.
  4. Lastly, be careful. This could be a modus people are doing to rob you.

I’m still mad at they guy for punching me and a little bit at myself for not being quick enough. If I see him on the street, I will probably charge at him. I’m fine, I put ice on my head. It’s still pretty sore and I get a bit dizzy sometimes. So, I’m gonna go and put more ice then go back to reading my book. 🙂

I hope you guys were safe this weekend. As that one dude from Tinder would always tell me, ‘Ingats phow lagi! :)’.

Leave a Reply

