Spoken Word Artists That Have No Chill: Sarah Kay

Today, I’m going to start a new series in this blog called “Spoken Word Artists That Have No Chill”. A series where I fangirl over spoken word poets. I’ll be featuring spoken word artists that I admire for their work (just to be clear, friends. :P) and new ones I’ve just discovered and wanna share, so this series is basically going feature everybody that I know of and will hopefully discover in the future. HAHAHA.

Choosing the first artist to be featured for this series was quite difficult because there just SO MANY to choose from and I want to feature them all, but big thanks to YouTube because now getting to know new artists and their work is so much easier. So I’m gonna go back to the first time I got hooked on spoken word poetry.

Over the years, I’ve sporadically seen a couple of videos of spoken word poets performing but I fell down the rabbit hole when one of my good friends from highschool, Astrid, tagged me in a video she shared saying I should really watch this girl because she reminds her of me in the way that I look and speak. So I got really curious. I spent that Saturday afternoon watching a lot of Sarah Kay videos, bawling in my room, and binge eating ice cream. This was the first video I watched that afternoon:

I lost it at “You are not made of metaphors. Not apologies. Not excuses.” I was bawling through the rest of the poem. It hit a big nerve, it felt like she was a friend telling me all these things that I needed to hear. So naturally, my response was “omg. more please.” And I kept clicking link after link after link. Watching that first video opened me to a whole new world that is spoken word poetry, I discovered so many artists that afternoon and I was inspired to finally share my writing to others  that I can’t help but feel that Sarah is my spoken word godmother. Here is another favorite:

“Practice does not make perfect. Practice makes permanent.” See, this girl. OMG. This girl has absolutely no chill at all. She is brilliant. Weaving words in a way I can only dream of. She was also a speaker for TED2011 and I also watched it that afternoon and my this girl is just… electric. She became one of my lifespirations. I cannot help but gush, she’s just really really awesome. If you haven’t seen her TED talk yet, you should. You can watch it here.

Early this year, I had the privilege of meeting Sarah when we brought them (her and Phil, whom I’m gonna feature somewhere down the line) here for Project Voice Live in Manila! It was such an AMAZING experience just watching them work and just being in the presence of these two awesome people. Here are some of my favorite poems that she performed that night:

Sarah released her first poetry collection last year called “No Matter The Wreckage”, featuring years and years of her poetry and it is great. If you don’t have it yet, try and get a copy of this book by ordering it online or requesting it from your local bookstore (I know Fully Booked has this service) so that they’ll carry the book in their stores. 😀

So, I’m gonna end this post with one last video. This is a poem I wish I’d seen live but it wasn’t part of her set list hopefully next time it will be. 🙂 If you love learning and teaching as much as I do, you’ll love this poem.

There you have it, the first of the series! Yaaaaaay! 😀 If you have any suggestions on who I should watch next or you just want to share your favorite poets or share your favorite Sarah Kay poem, you can comment them below or you can send me an email, Facebook message, tweet, homing pigeon, whatever. I’d love to hear about it. 😀

Until the next! ❤

3 thoughts on “Spoken Word Artists That Have No Chill: Sarah Kay

  1. If you havent watched these yet you should go check them in youtube now ->
    “How to Succeed in Heartbreak”, “OCD”, “Dear Straight People”, “The Period Poem”, “Shrinking Women”, “Say No”, “21”, “Lost Voices”, “New Insults”, “I Wont Write Your Obituary”

    ps: Thank you for coming here in Baguio I really had fun last night it was awesome you four were awesome:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

